Tanzania Map

An East African Country, Tanzania is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. The eastern border of Tanzania lies on the Indian Ocean.

What are the geographical coordinates of Tanzania?

Latitude: 6º00´ South of the Equator

Longitude: 35º00´ East of Greenwich Meridian

What is the official name of Tanzania?

Conventional long form: United Republic of Tanzania

Conventional short form: Tanzania

Flag of Tanzania Description

The flag of Tanzania is made up of green, yellow, black, and blue stripes. The flag is divided diagonally from the lower hoist (left) side to the upper fly (right) corner with a thick black stripe.

On either side of the black stripe is a narrow yellow stripe. Below the yellow stripe, on the lower fly side, the flag is blue, forming a triangle. On the opposite side, the upper hoist side, the flag is a green triangle.

The colors are symbolic of various aspects of Tanzania. The green is symbolic of the fertile lands of Tanzania, while yellow is for the country’s mineral deposits, and blue is for the waters of Tanzania, including the Indian Ocean. The black in the center represents the people of Tanzania.

Tanzania Map

History of the Flag of Tanzania

The current flag of Tanzania was adopted on June 30, 1964. Prior to this flag, the region had been two separate political entities, Tanganyika and Zanzibar. When they merged, forming Tanzania, on April 26, 1964, they merged not only their names and their lands, but also their flag. The blue of the Zanzibar flag and the yellow stripes of the Tanganyika flag were combined with the common elements. They were placed diagonally on the flag to show their equal status.